• Costa Rica Coffee Guide

Costa Rica expands list of authorized states, countries for tourists

September 24, 2020

Costa Rica has expanded the list of countries and U.S. states from which it will welcome tourists in October, Tourism Minister Gustavo Segura announced Thursday.

As of October 1, Costa Rica will add Ohio to its list of authorized states. The Buckeye State joins the following approved U.S. states:

  • Currently authorized: Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Vermont, Virginia (and Washington, D.C.), Arizona, Colorado, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Washington and Wyoming.
  • Authorized as of Oct. 1, 2020: California, Ohio.

In addition, Costa Rica added two more countries to its authorized list for October: Mexico and Jamaica. They join more than 40 nations, including Canada and those in the EU, whose residents are allowed to visit Costa Rica. (Click here for the full list.)

Mexico is the country from which the third-most tourists visit Costa Rica. According to Tourism Board (ICT) data, 97,000 Mexicans visited the country in 2019, trailing only the United States and Canada.

Segura said that while welcoming tourists is a “controlled risk,” to date, no visitors have tested positive for the coronavirus while in Costa Rica.

“The gradual mechanism that we have followed allows us to put our protocols to the test,” Segura said.

Requirements for tourists to enter Costa Rica

  1. All people entering Costa Rica must complete the digital epidemiological form. This is known as the “Health Pass” or “Pase de Salud.” Click here for a link to the form.
  2. Tourists must obtain a negative PCR coronavirus test. The sample for this test must have been taken at most 72 hours before the flight to Costa Rica.
  3. Tourists must purchase travel insurance that covers accommodation in case of quarantine and medical expenses due to COVID-19. This policy can be international or purchased from Costa Rican insurers.
  4. Tourists from the United States must demonstrate, via their driver’s license or State ID, that they live in one of the authorized states.

Visitors can fly to Costa Rica with a layover in a non-authorized state or country, as long as the layover is shorter than 18 hours and the passengers don’t leave the airport.


You may be interested

Arts and Culture

Costa Rica’s wildlife, jungles and beaches in high-resolution video

The Tico Times - June 13, 2021

It's amazing what thousands of dollars worth of video equipment can do. Captured using a Red Epic cinema camera, a series…

Pejibayes in Costa Rica –  The Ultimate Rainy Season Fruit
Expat Living
Expat Living

Pejibayes in Costa Rica – The Ultimate Rainy Season Fruit

Ed Bernhardt - June 13, 2021

Visitors to Costa Rica during the rainy season will come across the pejibaye harvest in local markets.  This unusual fruit…

Eyes on Nicaragua during crisis of democracy ahead of elections
Latin America
Latin America

Eyes on Nicaragua during crisis of democracy ahead of elections

Shaun Tandon and Alina Dieste - June 13, 2021

Nicaragua's sweeping crackdown on opposition poses a test for US President Joe Biden, who has put a top priority on…

The Tico Times | Top Costa Rica News, Travel, Culture and Sports