No menu items!


HomeGolazoWATCH: Costa Rica's Esteban Ramírez a finalist for FIFA's best goals of...

WATCH: Costa Rica’s Esteban Ramírez a finalist for FIFA’s best goals of the year

What exactly is it that separates a golazo, the Spanish designation for a beautiful score, from a normal goal? Whether it’s the perfect form, the high degree of difficulty, or the sheer improbability of it, there’s no doubting that each one is its own piece of art.

Each year FIFA honors these goals with the Puskás Award, which is given annually to the player who authors the most impressive single goal, either in international or club play. Costa Rica’s Esteban Ramírez, who currently plays for Club Sport Herediano, was announced as one of 10 finalists for FIFA’s best goals award last week with this amazing, long-distance strike against Saprissa from last November:

The 28-year-old from San José is going up against some of the game’s biggest names, like Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and captain of the world champion U.S. Women’s soccer team Carli Lloyd. Fans can cast their vote for Ramírez on the FIFA website before the top three goals are decided on Nov. 30. A winner will then be decided on Jan. 16, 2016 on the same day as the Balon d’Or award, given each year to the best football player in the world.

All goals were considered from Sept. 27, 2014 to Sept. 23, 2015. Last year’s winner was Colombia’s James Rodríguez for this stunning goal in the World Cup against Uruguay, which lifted the Colombians to the quarterfinals:


Weekly Recap

Costa Rica Coffee Maker Chorreador
Costa Rica Coffee Maker Chorreador
Costa Rica Travel Insurance
Costa Rica Rocking Chait

Latest Articles