No menu items!


HomesportsSoccerCosta Rican club Saprissa ties Motagua to win CONCACAF League

Costa Rican club Saprissa ties Motagua to win CONCACAF League

It was as thrilling as any scoreless game you’ll ever see.

With a 0-0 draw against Motagua on Tuesday night in Tegucigalpa, Honduras, Saprissa won the 2019 CONCACAF League title.

The Costa Rican club earned the title thanks to its 1-0 victory earlier this month in the first leg of the home-and-home championship.

You’d be hard-pressed to find a more intense scoreless match. Motagua had a goal disallowed for offside in the final minutes, while Saprissa came inches away from scoring several times on the counterattack.

In the end, no goal came — and that was just fine for Saprissa, which celebrated the title thanks to Johan Venegas’s tally in the 19th minute of the first leg in Tibás.

The 2019 CONCACAF League included 22 teams, 18 of which hailed from Central America.

Saprissa’s win marks the second title for a Costa Rican club in the tournament’s three years. Herediano won the CONCACAF League last year after Olimpia (Honduras) claimed the inaugural trophy in 2017.

Weekly Recap

Latest Articles