No menu items!


HomeLegislative Assembly11 lawmakers return to Costa Rica's Legislative Assembly for second term

11 lawmakers return to Costa Rica’s Legislative Assembly for second term

Of the 57 lawmakers who take office today for the 2014-2018 period, 11 have previous experience in the Legislative Assembly. Costa Rica’s Constitution does not allow consecutive re-election of lawmakers.

Five of the returning legislators belong to the National Liberation Party (PLN). Antonio Álvarez Desanti, Sandra Piszk, Juan Luis Jiménez and Rolando González were in office from 1994-1998, and Olivier Jiménez served from 2002-2006.

Two returning lawmakers belong to the Citizen Action Party (PAC) , including the party’s founder and former presidential candidate Ottón Solís, who was in office from 1994-1998. However, at the time Solís was a member of the National Liberation Party. Epsy Campbell served from 2002-2006.

Mario Redondo, from the Christian Democratic Alliance, was elected by the Social Christian Unity Party (PUSC) from 2002-2006, and was president of the Assembly’s directorate. He left PUSC after the end of his term.

The list includes the founder of the Libertarian Movement Party, Otto Guevara, who unsuccessfully ran for president in several national elections, as well as Accessibility Without Exclusion’s Oscar López and PUSC’s Jorge Rodríguez. Guevara was a legislator from 1998-2002, López served from 2002-2006 and Rodríguez from 1990-1994.

L. Arias
L. Arias
Reporter | The Tico Times |

Weekly Recap

Costa Rica Coffee Maker Chorreador
Costa Rica Coffee Maker Chorreador
Costa Rica Travel Insurance

Latest Articles