No menu items!
57.9 F
San Jose
Friday, June 2, 2023

4th National Surf Circuit Date Leaves No Clear Favorite

Costa Rican surfers took to the waves for the fourth event of the 2009-2010 National Surf Circuit last weekend in Tamarindo, on the northern Pacific coast. The win went to Mattías Braun, 25, from the NicoyaPeninsula beach town of Montezuma, making a different winner for each of this season s circuit events to date, and leaving no clear indication of who is likely to win the championship title when the contest rolls into the Central Pacific s Playa Hermosa for the finals in June.

In fact, none of the four surfers who battled it out in the final heat last weekend Braun, Federico Pilurzu, Isaac Vega and Jason Torres competed in the circuit s previous three contests in Jacó, Esterillos and Limón, but all expressed a desire for a shot at the national title. They will travel to the next dates in Santa Teresa, Nosara and Playa Hermosa in an effort to accomplish their goals.

The women s division saw a big upset last weekend when Tamarindo resident Nataly Bernold, 16, overtook 27-year-old Lisbeth Vindas, winner of all three previous dates this season, in the final heat to score the trophy. The win makes the fight for the national women s championship title more interesting. This is a date I really wanted to win, Bernold said. I feel very motivated because I have been training a lot to win, and finally I did.

The next date of the 2009-2010 National Surf Circuit is set to take place April 10 to 11 in Santa Teresa, on the southern NicoyaPeninsula.


Latest Articles

Popular Reads